Chinese National Minorities
and Major Areas of Distribution
Small Seal Style
1. Yanbian Korean Autonomous Prefecture
2. Gannan Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture
3. Linxia Hui Autonomous Prefecture
4. Haibei Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture
5. Huangna Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture
6. Hainan Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture
7. Guoluo Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture
8. Yushu Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture
9. Haixi Mongolian, Tibetan, Kazakh Autonomous Prefecture
10. Bayingolin Mongolian Autonomous Prefecture
11. Kizilsu Khalkhas Autonomous Prefecture
12. Changji Hui Autonomous Prefecture
13. Bortala Mongolian Autonomous Prefecture
14. Ili Kazakh Autonomous Prefecture

15. Xiangxi Tujia, Miao Autonomous Prefecture
16. Haina Li, Miao Autonomous Prefecture
17. Aba (Ngawa) Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture
18. Garze Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture
19. Liangsha Yi Autonomous Prefecture
20. Qiandongnan Miao, Dong Autonomous Prefecture
21. Qiannan Bouyei, Miao Autonomous Prefecture
22. Wenshan Zhuang, Miao Autonomous Prefecture
23. Honghe Hani, Yi Autonomous Prefecture
24. Xishuangbanna Dai Autonomous Prefecture
25. Chuxiong Yi Autonomous Prefecture
26. Chuxiong Yi Autonomous Prefecture
27. Dehong Dai, Jingpo Autonomous Prefecture
28. Nujiang Lisu Autonomous Prefecture
29. Degen Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture


National Minorities Major Areas of Distribution
Mongolian Nei Monggol Autonomous Region, Liaoning Province, Jilin Province, Heilongjiang Province, Gansu Province, Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, Qinghai Province, Hebei Province,
Zhuang Guangxi Ahuang Autonomous Region, Yunnan Province, Guangdong Province
Uygur Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region
Miao Guizhou Province, Hunan Provicne, Yunnan Province, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, Sichuan Province, Guangdong Province, Hubei Province
Hui Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region, Gansu Province, Qinghai Province, Shandong Province, Yunnan Province, Anhui Province, Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, Liaoning Province
Tibetan Xizang Autonomous Region, Qinghai Province, Sichuan Province, Gansu Province, Yunna Provice
Korean Jilin Province, Heilongjiang Province, Liaoning Province
Manchu Liaoning Province, Heilongjiang Province, Jilin Province, Hebei Province, Beijing, Nei Monggol Autonomous Region
Bouyei Guizhou Province
Dong Guizhou Province, Hunan Province, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region
Yao Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, Hunan Province, Guangdong Province, Huizhou Province
Bai Yunnan Province
Tujia Hunan Province, Hubei Province
Hani Yunnan Province
Kazakh Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, Gansu Province, Qinghai Province
Dai Yunnan Province
Li Guangdong Province
Lisu Yunnan Province
Va Yunann Province
She Fujian Province, Zhejiang Province, Jiangxi Province, Guangdong Province, Anhui Province
Gaoshan Taiwan Province
Lahu Yunnan Province
Shui Guizhou Province
Dongxiang Gansu Province
Naxi Yunnan Province
Jingpo Yunann Province
Khalkhas Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region
Tu Qinghai Province
Daur Heilongjiang Province, Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region
Mulao Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, Guizhou Province
Qiang Sichuan Province
Bulang Yunnan Province
Salar Qinghai Province, Gansu Province
Maonan Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region
Gelao Guizhou Province, Yunnan Province, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region
Xibe Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, Liaoning Province, Jilin Province
Achang Yunnan Province
Pumi Yunnan Province
Tajik Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region
Nu Yunnan Province
Uzbek Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region
Russian Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region
Ewenki Heilongjiang Province
Benglong Yunnan Province
Yugur Gansu Province
Jing Guangdong Province
Tartar Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region
Drung Yunnan Province
Oroqen Heilongjiang Province
Hezhe Heilongjiang Province
Monba Xizang Autonomous Region
Loba Xizang Autonomous Region

Reprinted from the Beijing Review, No.6, February 9, 1979

| back to top |

© Asia for Educators, Columbia University |